A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones

Description

A dazzling illustrated edition of the book that started it all--for readers of A Song of Ice and Fire and fans of HBO's Game of Thrones. Published in celebration of the twentieth anniversary of George R. R. Martin's landmark series, this lavishly illustrated special edition of A Game of Thrones--featuring gorgeous full-page artwork as well as black-and-white illustrations in every chapter--revitalizes the fantasy masterpiece that became a cultural phenomenon. And now the mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure of this magnificent saga come to life as never before. A GAME OF THRONES
A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE
With a special foreword by John Hodgman Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King's Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert's name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse--unnatural things relegated to myth during the centuries-long summer, but proving all too real and all too deadly in the turning of the season. Yet a more immediate threat lurks to the south, where Jon Arryn, the Hand of the King, has died under mysterious circumstances. Now Robert is riding north to Winterfell, bringing his queen, the lovely but cold Cersei, his son, the cruel, vainglorious Prince Joffrey, and the queen's brothers Jaime and Tyrion of the powerful and wealthy House Lannister--the first a swordsman without equal, the second a dwarf whose stunted stature belies a brilliant mind. All are heading for Winterfell and a fateful encounter that will change the course of kingdoms. Meanwhile, across the Narrow Sea, Prince Viserys, heir of the fallen House Targaryen, which once ruled all of Westeros, schemes to reclaim the throne with an army of barbarian Dothraki--whose loyalty he will purchase in the only coin left to him: his beautiful yet innocent sister, Daenerys.

Similar Books

ISBN 10: 0553805444
ISBN 13: 9780553805444

01 Nov 2014
George R R Martin

ISBN 10: 152479628X
ISBN 13: 9781524796280

20 Nov 2018
George R R Martin

ISBN 10: 1984821156
ISBN 13: 9781984821157

05 Nov 2019
George R R Martin

ISBN 10: 198481785X
ISBN 13: 9781984817853

01 Oct 2019
Robin Hobb

ISBN 10: 0440423201
ISBN 13: 9780440423201

05 Jul 2011
Diana Gabaldon

ISBN 10: 1506715222
ISBN 13: 9781506715223

26 Jul 2020
Kentaro Miura

ISBN 10: 0008363749
ISBN 13: 9780008363741

14 Nov 2019
George R.r. Martin

ISBN 10: 0008253234
ISBN 13: 9780008253233

24 Aug 2017
George R.r. Martin

ISBN 10: 0008132208
ISBN 13: 9780008132200

07 May 2015
George R.r. Martin

ISBN 10: 1473223059
ISBN 13: 9781473223059

20 Sep 2018
Brandon Sanderson

ISBN 10: 000811885X
ISBN 13: 9780008118853

04 Dec 2014
George R.r. Martin

ISBN 10: 059309932X
ISBN 13: 9780593099322

01 Oct 2019
Frank Herbert